Another Sign of the Season

In my last posting I commented on how Courting Season leads to love in the air. I failed to mention that it also leads to overhead disputes as well.

You see, Jim and Cindy, our local Bald Eagle pair, aren’t the only lovebirds in town. Other adult eagle pairs have the same notion of mating and nesting and those without a territory of their own are searching for nesting sites and hunting grounds. This can lead to some interesting encounters when they encroach upon the established domain of resident eagles. Such was the case two hours ago.

I had spent a few hours in the crisp autumn air, which had been ushered in by yesterday’s cold front, searching for Jim and Cindy at their usual fishing grounds. I was hoping that the cooler weather would trigger a little eagle-friskiness. The thick clouds lazily drifting overhead heavily filtered the sunlight as the first few hours passed. I had seen no eagles but was passing time watching the cormorants, egrets and the fishing Osprey crowding the hazy skies over Huffman Lake. (By the way, Huffman Lake is named in honor of the Mr. Huffman who allowed local boys, Wilbur and Orville Wright, to perfect their own flying machine in the skies above his nearby cow pasture a little over one hundred years ago.) I had no idea that Jim and Cindy had been spending the day perched in the trees along the lake shore, a hundred yards to my left. No idea, that is, until they both flew low over the lake and instantly evaporated into the clouds as only eagles can.

I decided to drive the short distance to their nesting territory to try to see if they were heading home. During the two-minute-drive, the sun managed to burn its way through the cloudcover and illuminate the area with a bright, yellow light. There, over their favorite lake, I found two adult eagles swooping over the water. Then to the left I found another pair of adult eagles swooping over the water! I eased my car onto the shoulder of the highway and snapped a few quick pictures. (I know that this is frowned upon by the local authorities, but come on, there were four Bald Eagles flying next to me!) The action quickly ended with the trespassing pair rising high into the air and drifting off to the north as Jim and Cindy headed deeper into the well field.

Almost all of these encounters end the same way. The intruding eagles are simply sent on their way with little fanfare. It is more of an, “Oh, excuse me! I didn’t realize that this lake was taken! We’ll just be moving along now.” sort of exchange than an actual fight.

I expect that there will be a few more interlopers passing through this fall but Jim and Cindy are very capable of shooing them off and seem extremely eager to do so. They too realize that it is just another sign of the season.

Published in: on September 18, 2012 at 10:00 pm  Comments (6)  

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a beautiful day for you and the eagles!! As I read your post, I can almost see the eagles soaring and the way the sky looked today and all of us who follow you, imagine we are there also! I look forward to these posts and can’t wait for the next one. Thanks, Polly.

  2. Reblogged this on eagleholic and commented:
    Jim’s always interesting observation’s of the Eagle pair at the Boonshoft nest…

  3. Thanks again Polly. It was an exhilarating and unexpected surprise to see them defend their home again.

  4. Thank you.

  5. What a wonderful and informing site. Thanks so much. Can’t wait for the next newsletter

  6. Thank you Carolyne. I hope to have an update on the nest soon!


Leave a Reply

