Looks Like We’ve Made It!

Last night’s storms were doozies! And the Dayton, Ohio area was just brushed by the southern edge of the active weather.

Our Bald Eagle aerie is soaked but intact as are our eagles! The Eagle-cams were both moved slightly by the jarring winds and the lenses are a bit wet creating a rather foggy image in the cloud-filtered sunlight, but there in the nest stands one eaglet and one adult. I am assuming and hoping that the other adult is with the other eaglet and they too are well.

There is a line in the Barry Manilow song referenced in the above title that say’s “We made it through the rain and found ourselves respected by the others who got rained on too, and made it through.” I find myself in wonderment and admiration this morning of the integrity of the design and construction of the nest high atop that swaying sycamore tree. These creatures still find ways to amaze me.

The weather is improving as I type these words. The thunder is now a distant rumble and the rain is abating. The forecast that I saw this morning is calling for sunny skies and seasonal temperatures through Wednesday. That is perfect weather for eaglet fledging and eagle watching! When the second eaglet spreads its beautiful wings and takes to the skies later today or tomorrow, once again I will breathe a sigh and say “Looks like we’ve made it.”

Published in: on June 13, 2013 at 2:13 pm  Comments (7)  

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well this is awesome. glad everyone feathered & not are doing OK . I have to admit I had cam 2 open and watched, I could make out one standing and it looked like maybe one laying down. Saw a lot of lightening but the wind wasn’t as bad as the weather station said it would be. (thank goodness) Again I’m so glad you all made it threw.

  2. Reblogged this on eagleholic and commented:
    Boonshoft nest – yeah, good news!

  3. wonderful news! And so well written! Thank you for updating us.

  4. I had to peek at the cam as soon as I awoke this morning, two Eaglets doing a Happy Dance is what I saw….

  5. Wow, I was worried about the eagles last night!! I hoped they were alright but I knew the storms were bad here in Sidney. I was worried they were bad in Dayton too. So glad they rode out the storm safely, I can only imagine the bumpy ride they experienced! Thanks Jim for all your updates, I really appreciate them!!!
    Polly.

  6. We stumbled over here by a different web page and thought I might
    check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page repeatedly.

  7. I am glad that you “stumbled” our way! Welcome aboard.


Leave a Reply

