The Eagle’s Nest Stands Silent

The aerie this spring.

The aerie this spring.

The nest at rest.

The nest at rest.

As I paused at Eastwood Lake and looked through the thick, hazy, humid air at the vacant aerie in the distance, all but consumed by thirsty foliage, I was surprised by the flood of emotions and words that washed over me as I thought of the recently ended nesting season. Here are the words that I was able to capture as they cascaded by.

 

The eagle’s nest stands silent

Her annual labor done,

She’s proven herself trustworthy.

Each battle fought, she’s won.

~

As wandering eagles see her

Without a word she’ll say.

“This territory’s taken!

You’d best be on your way!”

~

Through the blistering heat of summer,

While standing high and proud,

She will chant of former glories,

But not a word out loud.

~

Crowning autumn’s canopy

She will breathe a quiet sigh

As her master and her mistress

Dance across the sky!

~

Speechless through the snowfall,

Atop that barren tree,

She’ll patiently anticipate

The things that are to be.

~

Then just before the springtime

She will end her time of rest

And sing anew her song of joy

With new life in her breast!

~

The eagle’s nest stands silent

Yet she has so much to say,

If we’ll just pause to listen

As we hasten by today.

~

Published in: on July 19, 2013 at 11:35 pm  Comments (28)  

28 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for keeping interested bird watchers informed about our precious eagles,

  2. Oh my goodness, that’s been the best reason for me to cry today. Written so beautifully it sums up how I’ve been feeling about a local nest that I’ve been watching since February. The kids have been “branching” but I haven’t seen them leave the nest yet. This poem is going into my favorites and I’ll recall it every time I look up in to our nest. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Absolutely beautiful Jim. Isn’t it amazing how attached we get to the eagle family. I stayed up late into the night watching the FL eagles. I was so worried in the beginning that Honor, the male who was 3 days younger than his sister Hope, was not going to make it because he had a hard time getting food. But Ozzie and Harriet were excellent parents and it all worked out well. Thank you for the awesome poem.

  4. OMGosh Jim, a lot of powerful emotion when reading this one 😥 it made me cry and fills me with so much gratitude that one day I was awaken onto the eagle and their life. Thank you for sharing this! It is absolutely beautiful!

  5. I grabbed my tissues before I read your post, I’ve learned. What a beautiful poem!! You described the empty aerie and what it must be feeling! Hopefully it will be used again next year and be bigger and stronger. Have you seen the eaglets lately? And Jim and Cindy? I hope the babies are doing well and learning from their parents how to survive. Thank you so much Jim Weller for all you have done to educate all of us and your beautiful story telling. You have a gift and I am so glad you share it with us. I feel very blessed to have found this web site and the Eagle Watchers! Polly.

  6. Beautiful. Very moving and well written. Loved it!

  7. You are welcome TG.

  8. I always find it a very bittersweet experience when the last eaglet fledges Julie. Thank you for you kind words.

  9. Joanie, it is hard not to get attached when you watch the devotion and struggles at the nest. Having these eagles so close and being able to enjoy them daily is an answer to prayer for me, a prayer that I made as a child 40+ years ago. God is too good to me. Thank you for your kind comments.

  10. Well Darlene, it seems like I am making a lot of business for the tissue companies tonight. I am glad you were blessed by my little poem. I know that it is not very sophisticated but the words moved me when they washed over my heart and I was hoping that they might touch others too.

  11. Thank you again Polly. Our daughters are grown and on their own so I identify with the empty nest syndrome. Now we have two grandsons that frequently enliven our home but the place always seems so empty and quiet when they leave. Both eaglets are doing well even in the long hot spell. I am glad that the heat hit after they were flying so they can splash in the lakes and get a drink now and then. Jim is looking a bit ragged but that is normal after nesting and feeding duties. I believe the adults may still be feeding the eaglets, at least they are still carrying fish back into the trees of the well field. I am hoping to see the young ones fishing on their own soon. When I can confirm that they are hunting on their own I will post something here.

  12. Thank you Catherine. I am glad that you enjoyed it.

  13. I just don’t know how to explain the emotions I feel every time I see your posts Jim, I can actually feel the love you have for this family & it makes my heart skip a beat. Thank you for this experience. I have only one other nest that makes me feel like this.. I know it doesn’t make a lot of sense, but I have never been good a saying the right words.(please excuse the rambling) Thank you from the bottom of my heart for this wonderful place to come & read your view.

  14. Words spoken from the heart are always eloquent and poignant Jannice. I am so glad that you were blessed by my words, but in all honesty, I just scribbled down the thoughts that were rushing through my mind. God gives us all the capacity to love and to love deeply, for we were created in His image. Our love for the beauty of nature reflects our love for nature’s Creator. I thank God often for the blessings He has set before me and for the ability to see the wonders all around me.

  15. Hi. I’m a relatively new eagle watcher. We have a nest about 10 miles from my house & have watched the 2 adults successfully fledge 3 eaglets. All 3 babies have been seen flying around the nest recently, but we haven’t seen either adult in a while. Do they leave the nest & migrate elsewhere once the babies are able to take care of themselves? (Our nest is not far from Steubenville, Ohio.) Thanks & keep up the good work. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts & seeing your pictures.

  16. Thanks for your comment Karen. (Steubenville, Ohio, the home of Dean Martin. My wife has family in Weirton and Wellsburg, West Virginia so I have traveled through the area as recently as this past winter.) “Migration” for the Bald Eagle in Ohio is more about food supply than the imprinting of an annual trek. The eagles here in Dayton winter right here because our three rivers and multiple lakes provide ample food all year. When the nesting season ends, as the last eaglet fledges from the nest, the nest loses its attraction and may become a hang out for Canada Geese, Great Blue Heron or other birds until the eagles chase them off. It is common for our adults to disappear for a week or two several times each year on what we refer to as fishing trips. Your eagles probably fish the waters of the Ohio River and local lakes but you are close enough to Lake Erie that they may head north for a while. If you are seeing this year eaglets flying nearby there is a good chance that Mom and Dad are there too. The eaglets see the nest as a place where food has been available so they may return to it for a while until they learn that the fish deliveries have stopped. Juveniles may hang out with their parents for quite some time (possibly a year) before wandering off together or separately, often following other birds passing by.

  17. Thanks Jim. I’m from Weirton, too! Small world. The nest we’ve been watching (I’m getting ready to go there now) is high in a tree on Route 7, near Brilliant, Ohio, so they’re right next to the Ohio River. Maybe we’ll be lucky enough to have them to stick around all year. Fingers crossed! Thanks again for the info.

  18. I learn so much from your writings. I had no idea that they just left the area for the purpose of finding food or that the eaglets sometimes stayed with the adults for up to 1 year. Those fishing trip vacations from the nest sound like an excellent reward for raising such wonderful eaglets. Anyway, thanks for all the info.

  19. Your discussion Karen makes me reflect our trip last weekend to Lake Erie. The locals looked at us oddly as we were parked along Route 6 with our binoculars out, staring at two immature eagles in an old dead tree along the road. To them seeing an eagle is common.
    Every refuge we stopped at we would see one or more eagles. I was surprised to see a nest above a parking lot and one very close to the very busy the Put in Bay. It was great sitting on picnic table at Put in Bay and seeing two mature eagles fly over our head, across the bay to the next island.
    Even the trip home was a success; we stopped at Pickerel Creek and saw six eagles at one time. I would recommend this trip for every eagle lover.

  20. Beautiful poem. Thank you for all the wonderful stories and sharing your love of Dayton’s Bald Eagles. It is a hi-light of my day/week when I read your posts and see the pictures. Thanks a million!

  21. How about that Karen! Let me know if they are still around this November. If not, they will most likely return by January/February for another nesting season.

  22. They are missed when they are gone Catherine. Sometimes the juvies are finally chased off when there are new eggs or eaglets in the nest.

  23. I used to run up to Sandusky County to eagle watch Ron, and as the population began recovering I was amazed at how many new nests were popping up. Some were only 20 feet or so high. One time I was near the Pickerel Creek area and returned to my car to find a juvenile perched on a low limb about 10 feet above my car and about 15 feet from where I stood! I froze! I watched it and it watched me for about five minutes before it flew of. I found myself feeling a bit intimidated, a little vulnerable and very blessed!

  24. Thank you Kathy. I love sharing about them!

  25. Cool beans Jim = heartfelt expression!
    Those little “rascals” WILL be missed and may the wind ALWAYS be at their backs… Thanks for the updates via this blog as I always look foward to it.
    You and I met out there one afternoon around late April or so and enjoyed our discussion re Jim & Cindy and other things. THEY were an awesome sight to see!

    Sincerely,

    Jay Vada

    PS: say – what does it take to get a few
    ELEW bumper stickers like you
    had on your vehicle?? 📷

  26. Thanks for your comment Jay. I saw Jim in a tree again today and he still makes me smile. They are amazing.

    I still have a few bumper stickers. If our paths should cross again, just ask.

  27. Loved this post – the poem was was beautiful.

  28. Thank you Carolyn. I am glad that you enjoyed them.


Leave a Reply

