Eagles of Inspiration

(I awakened at 2AM last night with this little poem rattling around in my head and since all of that rattling made it hard to sleep, I took 20 minutes to write it down. I thought that I would share it with all of you.)

Eagles of Inspiration
by Jim Weller

IMG_6835eSes_1

A single eagle atop a tree
speaks of many things to me.
I see a sentinel brave and strong
perched up high where he belongs.
Diligent throughout the day
aware of all that comes his way,
with eyes alert, he views the skies
for any threat that might pass by.

IMG_0956et2Ses

A pair of eagles in a tree
speaks of other truths to me.
I see a bond that none may shake
and only death itself dare break!
Devoted to each other so,
yet year by year devotion grows,
through every trial that they share
in togetherness and mutual care.

IMG_4073eSes

But a pair of eagles on the wing
makes my heart both laugh and sing!
Together, high up in the air,
they soar along without a care.
In unfettered freedom by and by
they dance their way across the sky
until, at last, as I strain to see,
they’re absorbed into its azure sea.

What a blessing to behold
this sight more valuable than gold,
this sight that sets my spirit free
to be what I was meant to be!
It snaps harsh tethers of earthly care
and sends me high into the air!

We’re designed by God to be so much more,
with hearts to watch, and love, and soar!

Published in: on August 18, 2015 at 7:27 pm  Comments (24)  

24 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for such a glorious poem. I hope you will allow me to repost it (with credit of course) on the AEF’s website. It’s just wonderful.

  2. Oh, Mr. Weller: You work magic with your words. Thank you so much for sharing your poem with us. All of your posts are very touching and show us your heart, and love for nature. Thank you again. Sincerely Pat Curran

  3. Thank you and we’ll done. I wish I was this creative at 2 am.

  4. Thank You Jim, That is beautiful. God has blessed you and I,m sure He will continue to do so. Daylily Di

  5. This is truly beautiful. It says everything of eagles, and I am so glad I have now experienced your words as you too, love our beautiful eagles and said what many of us perhaps could not express in this way. Thank you. . Carol Londres

  6. Jim,
    Your words are beautiful and heartfelt . Eagles seem to do something wonderful yet magical to the soul. There is something so reassuring and peaceful about watching eagles. I’ve enjoyed all your blogs and pictures this season. Although there is no cam in the nest, they help make me feel close to the family. Thank you for all the time you devote to Jim, Cindy and their young. You’re the best.

    Sandy Stricklin
    Omaha, NE

  7. Oh Jim such love felt words these are.Beautiful just Beautiful.

  8. Nice. I can’t imagine being so creative in the wee hours!

  9. That was beautiful Jim! Thanks for waking up sooo early and sharing, 🙂

  10. Thank you Carolyn. You know of my love for AEF and their mission so feel free to repost it.

  11. Thank you Pat. Nature reflects the glory of God so I am moved by its depth and beauty.

  12. I keep a pad and pen near the bed Tish because I have learned that unless I write it down the words will not let me sleep. (The challenge comes in reading my writing when I awaken.) Thank you for your kind words.

  13. Thank you Di. I’m still here so I know He has more plans for me. Every day is a blessed gift!

  14. Thanks again Carol. I am glad that my words touched you. God wants us to “watch and see that He is good”, “love one another” and “rejoice in Him always” and I see those attributes in the eagle’s example.

  15. Thank you Sandy. I see God’s fingerprints in all of nature, but most visibly in the majesty of an eagle. A soul cannot sense His presence and not be moved. We love to share the adventure with others!

  16. Thank you Jannice. If there is beauty in the words, it is the reflected beauty of the Creation that surrounds us. There is already a hint of autumn in the air, carried on the breeze like a refreshing promise. It is a blessing to be able to embrace the natural beauty around us in such unnatural times and to share it with others.

  17. Neither can I Donna. It just happens. The complete poem rattled in my head loud enough to wake my up. Once I jotted it down the rattling ceased and I slept like a baby. In the morning I had to read what I had written to recall it all. I know it sounds strange but I am an enigma at times. 🙂

  18. I had no choice April. There is a lot of empty, unused space in my head and the rattling was thunderous! I am glad that you enjoyed it.

  19. Thank you for your words and pictures. Hope you know how much your words affect those of us fortunate to read them. Our Eagles are a gift for us to learn about and watch how they continue to thrive in our sometimes hostile environment. your words are also lessens for us to help us see through your words and photos.

  20. Thank you Patricia. For 70 years the skies over Dayton were eagleless and many people lived their entire lives without experiencing the thrill and inspiration of seeing a wild Bald Eagle flying free. Most of the rest of the country endured the long drought as well. The struggles and trials that they face, both man-made and natural, are many, yet given the opportunity they can thrive. Their story holds many lessons for those who are willing to learn. It is our privilege to share it and our joy to witness it as it unfolds before our eyes!

  21. Wow, you are truly a POET. I thought I was the only one that woke up in the night. I really admire your writing skills. Keep it up!

  22. WOW!!! That is truly amazing! You have such a beautiful way with words, like Mother Nature has with her world…I bow to such a gift…Thanks so much for sharing it!!

  23. Thank you Robert.

  24. Thank you Nancy. Wonders are wonderful and I enjoy the blessing of being able to experience it all and sharing the awe.


Leave a Reply

