Christmas Boughs

It has been a warm December. Last weekend we broke a record high that was set 114 years ago. Apparently it was warm then too.

But the warmer days allow for more outdoor exploration in Jim and Cindy’s domain. Although I have spotted our love birds working on the aerie and occasionally passing by, most images have been like this one captured on a cloudy, rainy day at Eastwood Lake.

IMG_8570etS

(It still made me smile though.)

Other things have also brought a smile to my face. My brother who lives in nearby Springfield, Ohio reports that a first year juvenile is hanging out on a body of water near his place. The hook of its beak tilts slightly to the right and he first saw it a few days after the release of the juvie that I wrote about in our last posting! Remember this little guy?

IMG_5237eSs

(Hence my smile.)

Other encounters with Eastwood’s Whitetail bucks…

IMG_9108et2Ss and Pileated Woodpeckers…

IMG_6732etSs

and Merlins…

IMG_7768etSs

and Red-Tailed Hawks…

IMG_8265et3Ss
have also brought smiles.

As I sit and watch I cannot stop myself from singing along with the Christmas carols on the radio. Like an unexpected visit with old friends, they too make me smile. Although the weather doesn’t feel much like Christmas, a recent playing of Deck the Halls made me consider the lovely boughs just outside my window and inspired me to pen this simple, little, prayerful Christmas poem.

 

Christmas Boughs

Some boughs bear berries, some boughs bear cones,

Some boughs are barren and seem so alone.

But the boughs I love most in the harsh winter weather

Are the boughs that are bearing a bundle of feathers!

-O-

Whether tiny and hopping

IMG_0375et2Ss

Or larger and still

IMG_8490eSs

The joy that they carry repels winter’s chill.

-O-

To my heart those feathers, no matter what size,

Show freedom and grace as they mount to the sky.

For though I am tethered, for now, to this sod,

Someday I’ll go soaring to meet with my God!

-O-

As we think on that manger and the babe lying there

Let us listen for sounds in that holy night’s air.

While awed shepherds in silence gaze on God’s love

From the rafters descends the soft coo of a dove.

-O-

As you gather with family near a gift-laden tree

Remember God’s gift that can set the soul free.

May you sense His sweet presence as friends come together

And may you smile when finding a bough bearing feathers.

RGP859

From all of us here to all of you there,

Merry Christmas!

Published in: on December 18, 2015 at 12:37 am  Comments (16)  

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Merry Christmas and HAPPY New Year!! Thanks again for all you do for ‘our’ eagles… AND keeping us informed!

  2. Beautiful Jim! Just beautiful! Merry, Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  3. Just beautiful. Merry Christmas to you snd yours!

  4. That was beautiful. Thank you for all of your posts. May you have a very Happy Christmas with your family and a wonderful and very Blessed New Year in 2016. Diane

  5. As always, it’s nice that you are keeping an eye on Jim & Cindy for the rest of us. I hope that it is alright to share your poem with friends of mine that do not subscribe to the blog.

  6. Thanks for an early morning uplift 😊

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  7. What a wonderful poem and so appropriate. I look forward to your posts and have saved them throughout the years. Hope you and yours have a blessed and prosperous Christmas and New Year! Keep up the great information and photos. I paint for a hobby and love the wildlife you capture. Many thanks, Sandy

  8. Feel free to share it if you wish Steve. (But if your friends followed the blog they could get my simple poetry for free. Oh wait! It’s free either way. Never mind.)

  9. Merry Christmas and thank you for the photos and lovely sentiment🌲

  10. Thank you for the beautiful poem and pictures for this Christmas season.

  11. What a beautiful poem Jim!!!!! And the photos are awesome!!! I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas and please keep an eye on Jim and Cindy for all of us !!!!! Thanks for all you do!!! ……….Polly.

  12. Your photos made my day!!!!

  13. Thank you for putting a smile on my face and in my heart I really needed that . A very Merry Christmas to you and all of God’s creatures

  14. I enjoy reading your column. My brother works for the Nature Conservancy in Omaha. He used to live in Dayton. I forward some posts on to him. He is happy to see the eagle population improving here.
    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and family.
    Chris

  15. Thank you all for your kind comments and heartfelt wishes! May your Christmas be full of love and smiles and the new year full of grace and beauty. You each mean so much to me.

  16. Thanks Jim. Once again you give us a gift with your writing! Merry Christmas. See you at the lake. This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast. http://www.avast.com


Leave a Reply

