A Different Eagle Overhead

This posting is a bit different from any of my previous posts. I almost didn’t post it but after seeing some recent news reports and interviews I was moved to send it out there.

————-o————-

I never can tell what I may see as I sit and wait for the only two eagles residing in Montgomery County, Ohio to do something…or to even do nothing someplace where I can see them not doing it. Watching is a lot more fun when there is something to watch. So as I wait for Jim and Cindy to honor me with their presence I pass the time by watching other things like songbirds, groundhogs, deer, coyotes, water fowl… If it passes nearby, I watch it. And then I take a few pictures of it. (Let’s just say that if I ever start a groundhog watching group, I’m all set.) As a Christian I admire the uniqueness and beauty of each creature that I encounter and as an American I hold an even greater admiration for the American Bald Eagle. But once in a while something extraordinary will pass by that can be beautiful, somewhat frightening and yet thought-provoking all at the same time.

A few days ago I saw a different eagle passing through the skies above Eastwood…this one:

IMG_0238et2Ss

Dayton Ohio was the home of Wilbur and Orville Wright and is still the home of the Wright Patterson Air Force Base. In fact, Huffman Prairie where Will and Orv perfected their flying machines in the years following their historic 1903 success at Kitty Hawk, is now part of the massive base’s acreage. Wright Patt (as it is commonly called) also maintains various systems on the presidential airplane that (when the president is onboard) is known as Air Force One. This means that several times each year our fleet of giant C-17 cargo planes have to yield the skies to this most famous of all 747s. I always snap a few images as she passes nearby, glistening in the sunlight and purring like a kitten.

Now frankly, I am not at all a big fan of aircraft passing through Jim and Cindy’s airspace. Planes have tragically proven to be deadly hazards to Bald Eagles, as have automobiles and other manmade inventions, but the threat that those inventions pose are a part of the current reality of life in the wild. As I watched this shining behemoth circle overhead, a question flashed across my mind.

Why do so many eagles seem to choose nesting sites near airports?

Airports by necessity are wide open spaces with vast grasslands that are plentiful sources of prey. The cleared airport grounds are usually surrounded by large trees suitable for supporting large nests. A bird of prey may find nesting on the edge of the open field an advantage for ingress and egress from their nest tree. The winds passing unobstructed above the grassland may provide assistance for becoming airborne and the sundrenched, flat ground and paved runways may help create the thermals necessary for soaring. Most airports are just outside of developed urban areas that were settled more than a century ago along the banks of a river and having water nearby is a basic requirement for prime Bald Eagle nesting territory. If I were an eagle I would know these answers but for now I will have to settle for educated guesses. (Of course, if I were an eagle, typing on this keyboard with my talons would be very difficult and I suspect that eagles are notoriously poor spellers.) Whatever the reason, the presence of aircraft near Jim and Cindy’s domain is a fact that I have learned to live with.

As I looked at the seal adorning the side of Air Force One I was reminded of how in 1782, after 6 years of debate, The American Bald Eagle was made our national symbol and that seal was born. There have been various representations of The Seal with some minor adaptations over the last 234 years but I believe our Founders were onto something. The Bald Eagle is a true North American native. It embodies power, strength, intelligence and gracefulness along with many other admirable attributes. (I know old Ben Franklin preferred the wild turkey but who wants to eat eagle for Thanksgiving dinner?) The eagle on the official seal has an olive branch in its strong right foot and a bundle of arrows in its weaker left foot. The olive branch symbolizes peace while the arrows represent might. The eagle’s head is turned to its right preferring peace when possible. There is a lot of wisdom in that design. The shield on the eagle’s chest has 13 stripes, alternating red and white in color, upholding a star-spangled field of blue. This shield symbolizes the purity of vision and the blood of sacrifice of the original 13 states underpinning the institution of the federal government. Many other symbols appear on the seal but these spoke to me.

As I thought about these features of the seal I felt gratefulness for the freedoms that we so easily take for granted and at the same time challenged to pray for our leaders. In this divisive, politically-charged climate we can lose sight of the unity of our union. “E Pluribus Unum” (from many, one) is a precious commodity in these troubled times. Whomever occupies The Oval Office and Air Force One, now or in the future, needs our prayerful support. The President of The United States of America needs a clear vision to govern and the wisdom to make life-changing decisions. The Founders noted that we as Americans “are endowed by our Creator with certain unalienable rights” and we are mandated in The Bible to pray to that Creator for those in authority over us.

As Air Force One passed above Jim and Cindy’s Treetop Palace I was reminded that this world is a perilous place.

IMG_0161etes

As it passed once more over their mighty sycamore I began to pray in gratitude for my liberty as an American as well as in gratefulness for the Bald Eagle population recovery I am so blessed to witness.

IMG_0223eSs

Then, on its final pass, a lone juvenile Bald Eagle emerged from the treetops

IMG_0132et2es

and I was shocked by the reality of the dangers that exist in our changing world and the coming struggles that my own children and grandchildren may witness. I was also struck with the truth that this nation itself, with all of her faults and blemishes, is a fragile gift from God.

Being the child of two WWII veterans, my country has a special place in my heart, so I was grateful that on this day I was reminded of my blessings and duties as an American as I looked upon a different eagle overhead.

IMG_0207es

Published in: on February 29, 2016 at 2:02 pm  Comments (16)  

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have a question about eagles and their nests. I was told where to locate 4 possible eagle nests in Hardin County. I found 2 on Saturday.
    I wasn’t there long enough to see eagles. While observing one of the nests, I saw a lot of small birds perched in the tree above the nest. Would the eagles have allowed that?

    Thanks for your insight.

    Wanda Rider

  2. Thanks for such a thoughtful article, Jim. I appreciated it.

  3. I always love reading your postings. You remind all of us about the good that happens in this natural world we all live in together. Our nation has so much to be thankful for everyday! I appreciate you…..

  4. Hi Wanda, Eagles usually do not mind having small birds nearby. When there are eggs or eaglets in the nest the adult eagles may be more objectionable to their presence. Small birds will sometimes hang out in the lower portion of large eagle nests. Some birds, like European Starlings, roam in large numbers and will cover an area of trees before moving on, but they are a bit nomadic and they do not stay in one particular tree for very long. One word of caution though: Eagles are very protective of their privacy. Ohio’s eagles are just now beginning to lay eggs and those eggs are extremely sensitive to cold temperatures. Incubating adults may be flushed from the nests by people who venture too close and just a brief exposure of the eggs to the elements could be fatal for the developing eaglets within the shells. That is one reason why federal laws prohibit disturbing the nesting birds and mandate that observers maintain a respectable distance of several hundred feet from the nests. That being said, nesting birds are more predictable as they are always flying to and from the nest to feed, guard or to take their turn incubating the precious eggs so this brief time of leafless trees and predictable activity provides excellent opportunities for watching these amazing creatures.

  5. Thank you Kay. I hesitated to approach the aircraft/eagle connection because, as you well know, it is an emotional issue for many of us but the reality is there, and I hoped the images and text would encourage others to join me in praying for our leaders especially in this election year during such turbulent times.

  6. Thank you Diane. I sincerely appreciate being appreciated. We are in many ways unique in our national experience and I am so grateful to have been born an American.

  7. Your articles are always very good.

  8. Great Post, Thanks

  9. Thank you Jim for the great article. This post was just as enjoyable and thought provoking as all your other posts.

  10. WOW!!! I have to say, I have been getting this newsletter for awhile, and I just LOVE IT!!!! I don’t comment, but think you should know there are probably many out there like me…Keep up the AMAZING, STUNNING, FABULOUS work!!!!

  11. Thank you John. I’m glad that you like them.

  12. Thanks Gary! It was fun to write too.

  13. I’m glad you enjoyed it Steve. Hopefully my next post will be all about feeding eaglets!

  14. Thank you for your kind words Nancy. This one was different for me. I am glad that you took the time to comment, it means a lot.

  15. Very beautiful message written and conveyed. Thank you. Carol L.

  16. Thank you Carol. I take my responsibilities as a citizen and as a Christian seriously.


Leave a Reply

